Foodie Friday: Narcoossee’s

Introducing “Foodie Friday,” covering my favorite meals at Walt Disney World’s restaurants. It’s only fitting that the inaugural Foodie Friday post covers my favorite meal at Narcoossee’s – my favorite restaurant on property.

A few short years ago, a friend recommended that we try Narcoossee’s during our next trip. After checking out the menu, we agreed. We did our research and found that the best time to schedule our dinner reservation would be around 9pm. That would have us seated during the Wishes fireworks show and the Electrical Water Pageant. Narcoossee’s has many tables by the window, giving guests a clear view of the castle and the fireworks display. The restaurant features a wrap-around dock for those wishing to watch the fireworks outside. Most servers we have had at Narcoossee’s will try and plan the meal around the fireworks, so that your food does not sit at the table while you enjoy the show.

Narcoossee’s has a very simple and subdued elegance. The dining room is very spacious and features high ceilings and large wrap-around windows. At night, the moon lights up the dining room, giving it a very intimate appeal.

But let’s talk about the food. The food is the real winner. The meal begins with a fresh bread basket served with a salted butter. Disney has really upped its butter game! Most Signature restaurants now serve a flavored or colored sea salt atop its butter. It’s a small detail, but certainly adds a nice touch. The butter at Narcoossee’s features a pink sea salt, which can be purchased at The Spice and Tea Exchange in Downtown Disney.

During our first dining experience we ordered appetizers and were too full by the time we got to dessert. For that reason, we skip the appetizers and jump right into our entrees. What we do not skip, however, are the drinks. I love martinis. Any martini lover knows that a great bartender is hard to find. If you order a dirty martini, you either receive one that is too dirty or not dirty enough. Well, Narcoossee’s makes them “just right.” I usually order a Ketel One martini, dirty, with blue cheese olives. My sister follows suit and my parents usually go with wine. I swear, these are the perfect martinis and I highly recommend trying one… or two!

When it comes time to order my entree, I never have to look at the menu – I order the same thing every time! I go with the New York Strip steak and add the butter poached lobster tail. The addition of the lobster tail falls under the Disney Dining Plan, so I always add it! IMG_0101

The steak is cooked to perfection. I order my steak “medium rare,” which is easy to mess up. I’ll usually receive a steak that’s too rare or too well done, but like the martini, Narcoossee’s makes it “just right.” The steak is beautifully charred on the outside and the inside is soft and pink. The steak isn’t overly seasoned and is served with a delicious herbed cabernet-oxtail reduction.

The dish also features seasonal vegetables and creamy mashed potatoes. The highlight of the dish, however, is the butter poached lobster tail. It’s served with a dish of butter, but I usually toss that to the side – this lobster does not need anything else!

I love to mix the reduction with the mashed potatoes and of course, mix the lobster with the steak. This dish has so many different levels of flavor. The savory reduction complements the steak and the creamy mashed potatoes, and the buttery lobster tail adds a bit of sweetness to round out the dish.

Like my entree, I don’t have to look at the menu when it comes time to order my dessert. The almond-crusted cheesecake is my favorite dessert on property and I look forward to it each and every year. Candied almonds encrust one of the creamiest, most decadent cheesecakes I’ve ever tasted in my life. It’s heavy and filling, yet light and airy at the same time. It’s served aside a cherry puree, which cuts down on the sweetness and adds a bit of tartness. This cheesecake is out of this world! If you take one tip from this blog, it’s to order this cheesecake. You won’t be disappointed!

Almond-crusted Cheesecake

Almond-crusted Cheesecake

Narcoossee’s is a Signature Restaurant at Disney’s Grand Floridian. An average meal costs between $50 and $70. The restaurant requires two Table Service dining points on the Disney Dining Plan.

One thought on “Foodie Friday: Narcoossee’s

Leave a Reply

