Foodie Friday: Flavored Popcorn at EPCOT

Hello all!

I realize that I haven’t been posting much as of late! Things have gotten busy at work and I’m nearing the end of my “semester” in portfolio school. To say that I’ve been busy is an understatement. Of course this comes at a time when news and rumors are swirling at Disney World. Do know that I will return to posting on a usual basis – with “World News” every Monday, reader questions every Wednesday and the beloved “Foodie Friday” every, well, Friday. I also have another idea in the works that should serve as an outstanding resource for planning a Walt Disney World vacation! While this blog is a side project and hobby, I refuse to release anything that isn’t of the utmost quality. So, expect things to return to normal in a few weeks. For now, let’s celebrate another Foodie Friday; because if there’s one thing I’ll always find time for, it’s food!

The last two weeks we enjoyed some sweet treats. Today I’m in the mood for something a little more salty. Everything tastes better in Disney. Don’t believe me? Ask the dishes! (Sorry, I had to.) One everyday item that just seems to taste better in Disney is the popcorn. I love popcorn and I always enjoy walking down Main Street with a carton full of buttery goodness. In fact, it’s a ritual. I always stop by the popcorn cart to the left of the train station upon entering the park. I grab a carton of popcorn to myself and I usually finish it before we hit the castle! The popcorn is freshly popped and has the perfect amount of butter and salt! It’s not too greasy, but greasy enough to need a napkin or two!

While I’m a huge fan of the original buttery popcorn, I stumbled upon flavored popcorn in EPCOT and could not resist. After sending our parents off to Captain EO, my sister, family friends and I decided to head over to Innovation Pavilion and check out the Sum of all Thrills. While passing by a food cart, a bright orange color caught my eye. At second glance, I realized that the nuclear-orange colored item was popcorn – Buffalo Bleu Cheese flavored popcorn! I stopped in my tracks and pointed at the cart, which contained four different flavors – Butter, Buffalo Bleu Cheese, Cheddar Cheese and Sour Cream and Chive. We made a beeline to the cart and immediately debated what flavors we’d go with. We finally settled on the Buffalo Bleu Cheese and Sour Cream and Chive.

I’ll start with the Buffalo Bleu Cheese. Initially I was turned off by its color. It’s a radiating bright orange that looks artificial. It’s also covered in seasoning, it almost looks dyed! Once I got passed the color, I dug in. The flavor was multi dimensional. Seriously – popcorn had a multi-dimensional flavor. First it tastes like a regular hot sauce. The taste of vinegar is prevalent and the heat is subtle and not overpowering. Then, you get the taste of bleu cheese! I was impressed with the flavor – these things pack a serious punch!

DisneyBleuCheese Popcorn

Next I tried the Sour Cream and Chive. I’m a huge fan of Sour Cream and Onion chips, so I lobbied for the flavor. It definitely looked more appeasing than the Buffalo Bleu Cheese popcorn. It was white with small green specs of seasoning. It reminded me of the Smart Food popcorn in the black bag, but tasted like a Sour Cream and Onion chip.

After sampling each flavor individually, I started to mix them. From what I understand, the cast members will actually mix the flavors for you if you wish, and will even provide samples. Both popcorns had a ton of flavor. You definitely need some napkins, though, as the seasoning will get all over your hands!

We’ve seen a lot of interesting food at Disney in the past year or two. Two years ago started the “waffle craze,” with a bunch of Quick Service spots serving up delicious savory and sweet waffle sandwiches. Min and Bill’s now serves specialty mac and cheese, and Golden Oak Outpost features waffle fries with a variety of toppings. Will we start to see more and more flavored popcorn carts around Walt Disney? What do you think the next food craze will be? Comment below!

 

One thought on “Foodie Friday: Flavored Popcorn at EPCOT

Leave a Reply

