Foodie Friday: The PB&J Shake from 50’s Prime Time Cafe (plus a healthy recipe!)

My favorite food is peanut butter. I love Reeses Peanut Butter Cups and Reeses Pieces. I could eat peanut butter alone with a spoon, melted over ice cream, or go “healthy” with pieces of celery or apple wedges. Peanut butter is the way to my heart. Growing up, I loved peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. It was a staple in the Pirone household. In high school, I’d build double-decker PB&Js and wash it down with a tall chocolate milk. Today, I eat a bit healthier and stick to peanut butter in my protein shakes, only eating Reeses cups once in a while.

But while I’m at Disney, my diet takes a back seat, so you can imagine my excitement when I discovered the Peanut Butter and Jelly Milkshake at 50’s Prime Time Cafe. The shake became an instant favorite after I first discovered it a few years ago. As I mentioned in a previous post, guests can order the milkshake as a drink with their meal, or as a dessert. The shake is available at both 50’s Prime Time Cafe, as well as for take-out from the Tune-In Lounge. The take-out is smaller, as it comes in a to-go cup, whereas the restaurant version features the classic metal refill cup found in old-time diners and soda shops.

milkshake

The PB&J Milkshake – childhood in a cup!

In one word, this shake tastes like childhood. The peanut butter is the first thing you taste, followed by the creaminess of the vanilla ice cream, and then the sweet, tart grape jelly. It really does taste like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

The shake is incredibly easy to make on your own. Just blend up 3 scoops of vanilla ice cream, ¼ cup of peanut butter, 3 tablespoons of grape jelly, ¼ cup of milk, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. If you wanna get a little crazy, go ahead and throw in a shot of Baileys Irish Cream or Kahula! It makes a great alcoholic drink on a hot summer day!

If you’re like me and are watching your calories, try the healthy version! I usually blend some almond milk (but you can use regular or skim,) natural peanut butter, strawberries, vanilla protein, and ice cubes. I use Quest Vanilla Protein Powder, as it has the closest taste to vanilla ice cream and contains xanthan gum, which makes it thicker; but you can use whichever vanilla protein powder you’d like. It’s doesn’t taste exactly like the PB&J shake, but it’s pretty tasty for a protein shake!

Leave a Reply

