Foodie Friday: Dinner at Biergarten

I was indifferent toward Biergarten when we first made the reservation. Don’t get me wrong – it had all the makings for a successful meal: I enjoy German food, I love buffets, and it seemed to have all the theming one would expect from a Disney restaurant. But for whatever reason, nothing appealed to me. It was my sister’s choice, though, so I went along with it.

After checking in for our reservation, we only waited around 10 minutes before being seated. We were lucky enough to be seated by ourselves. I think this was another taboo with me. I wasn’t interested in sharing a table with anyone, especially after discovering that they were regular tables pushed together, rather than actual long biergarten-style tables.

My sister and I each ordered beers. I was tempted by the liter beer, but opted for a smaller size. I wasn’t interested in drinking too much, although I ate so much that it’d probably all get soaked up, anyway! Once we were settled, we went up for food. I started with a pretzel roll or two and the soup, which was cheese and beer. It was a pleasant surprise, as the menu said creamy asparagus. Not gonna lie, I was looking forward to the asparagus, but I really enjoyed the cheese soup. In fact, I wish I had another bowl or two – it was that good!

After eating some soup, I turned my sights to the cold bar. I enjoyed the sausage salad, macaroni and potato salads, cole slaw, the German sliced pickles, a few different salads, as well as liverwurst, bolognas and other meats. It was definitely enjoyable. The macaroni and potato salads were delicious and made perfectly. I always enjoy liverwurst, as disgusting as it sounds. But there’s something about eating cold foods for dinner that just doesn’t mesh.

I was starting to feel a bit full by the time I went up for my hot food. I’m a pretty adventurous eater with a hefty appetite, so buffets with large offerings tend to be my crux! I ate on, however, which would later be a huge regret (spoiler.)

I turned my sights to the hot offerings. I couldn’t help but grab another pretzel roll – they’re so good! I skipped the hot dogs, as you can really get those anywhere. Instead, I focused on the German sausages, sauerkraut, German meatloaf, spaetzle, and other German offerings. I’ve never had Wienerschnitzel, so I was excited to finally try it. It cut like butter, was perfectly crispy on the outside, and very tender. I had the brown gravy served atop it. The gravy was okay, but tasted like it came from a jar. I almost forgot about the pasta gratin, a German mac and cheese of sorts. It was very good – very creamy, not too heavy and the melted cheese had a delicious salty, creamy and sharp taste to it.

The carving station was great, as well. I tried some of the pork loin with the curry ketchup – it had a really nice taste! I skipped the salmon to save room for dessert.

I was very excited for the Black Forest cake, but it was a real miss. The Bavarian cheesecake was decent, but the real winner was the Red Berry Compote. As full as I was, I almost went up for another. Maybe because I didn’t expect it to be much in the grand scheme of desserts, but this was my favorite! I topped it with some vanilla sauce and it was the perfect savory-meets-sweet dessert.

By the time we left, I was incredibly full. I was the portrait of gluttony, but I truly enjoyed myself.

All in all, it was a good experience. The food was delicious and fresh, the beer was cold and the entertainment was awesome. They had a live polka band playing most of the time, which was very entertaining. It was a great experience, but I don’t think we’ll be back. I file it under the “one and done” category. Again, this has nothing to do with a poor experience – we really enjoyed ourselves; but if we’re dining at EPCOT, restaurants like Teppan Edo and Rose & Crown fit our taste a bit more.

IMG_0196

My sister and I toasting our beers.

FullSizeRender (18)

Clockwise: macaroni salad, gratin, wienerschnitzel, hot potato salad, cold sausage, another mac salad, German sausage & sauerkraut, mustard, pretzel roll, and red cabbage in the middle.

 

Leave a Reply

