Foodie Friday: Beaches and Cream

I’m not sure why, exactly, but I keep pushing back my “Foodie Friday” review of Beaches and Cream. Maybe my motive was to give it the “grand finale” this Disney gem deserves. Or, maybe it was due to my Lenten promise to give up sweets (such as cake, ice cream, cookies, etc.) It’d surely be torture to write about the spot’s amazing ice cream creations without being able to grab a scoop (or three.) But the time has finally come to dive into a big bowl of Foodie Friday goodness. Let’s head to Beaches and Cream!

Nestled within the Beach Club Resort is a hidden gem that you’d certainly miss if you didn’t know it was there. After all, we consider ourselves “Disney buffs,” yet it took us a few years to finally learn about the ice cream shop. Not only is it a small spot, but it’s a bit hidden by the pool and you can’t get to it from inside the hotel (I don’t think…)

I originally planned on heading to Beaches and Cream during Food & Wine, but my sister and I were just too full. I managed to snag a reservation for our Christmas trip and refused to let go.

We always shied away from Beaches and Cream, even after learning about it. We felt that you can get a burger anywhere and didn’t feel like taking the trip for a restaurant that, frankly, is a poor value on the meal plan.

But this year was different. As a HUGE ice cream fan and the planner in my family, I made sure to book an ADR. We would spend the day eating around the World Showcase in EPCOT, head to Hollywood Studios for Fantasmic and some rides, then eat a (very) late, post-Fantasmic dinner at Beaches and Cream.

It took a little while to find the restaurant. I’ve read reviews that the inside is small, but it was much smaller than I expected. With only a few tables, a reservation is understandably difficult to come by. We got in just in time, as shortly after being seated, the restaurant filled up with take-out orders and standby guests waiting for a table.

I knew exactly what I wanted: the No Way Jose. But first, I decided to pick on some hot food, as I hadn’t eaten since the afternoon. Afraid to ruin my ice cream appetite, my mom and I decided to split a patty melt, while my dad went with a reuben and my sister ordered the grilled cheese. With it being so hot outside, she was in no mood for soup. Instead of the tomato soup, she ordered a side of fries. My dad originally asked for a side of onion rings. They messed up the order and gave him fries instead, but made up for it by bringing out a side order of onion rings – no charge.

Our server was awesome. He went ahead and split the patty melt in half for us, and gave us each our own portion of fries. The patty melt was one of the best I’ve ever had. The bread, a toasted rye, was perfectly toasted on the outside and held the sandwich together. The patty itself was wonderfully seasoned, and the cheese was totally melted. The highlight of the sandwich was the onions – perfectly caramelized – adding a nice sweet, rich onion flavor. The sandwich wasn’t too greasy, which helped in part to keep it together. The fries were pedestrian. We shared the onion rings and they were great. Perfectly crunchy on the outside, these hockey-puck sized rings passed the “break test.” You were able to break them in half without losing the entire onion to one side.

IMG_4779

The heavenly Patty melt with french fries.

Despite my plan to save room for dessert, I couldn’t help but try some of my dad’s reuben. Like the patty melt, it was also cooked perfectly. The bread held the sandwich together, it wasn’t too greasy, and the sauerkraut and thousand island dressing added the perfect tang to the corned beef and melted cheese.

And now… time for dessert.

I was starting to feel a bit full, but refused to pass up the No Way Jose. Right before ordering, the lights went out and a siren went off. The table next to us ordered a kitchen sink and began to dig in. Yeah… I can do this.

I ordered the No Way Jose, my mom went with the slice of cake, my dad ordered a simple 2-scoop sundae and my sister went with the brownie. I will say, when the order arrived I was slightly disappointed. I thought the No Way Jose would be half vanilla and half chocolate, but it was all chocolate ice cream. Next time I’ll know to ask for all vanilla ice cream, as I’m not a big fan of chocolate ice cream. The sundae itself was huge. It was packed with ice cream and topped with tons of chocolate and peanut butter morsels and sauce.

My mom’s chocolate cake looked amazing and was beautifully decorated. It had a ton of icing, something the server warned my mom about before ordering. My sister’s brownie also looked great and its description nearly swayed my decision when we ordered. The brownie a la mode features a hot brownie topped with hot fudge, vanilla ice cream and whipped cream and sprinkles. The ice cream melts over the brownie, creating the world’s most delicious “soup” at the bottom of the dish.

IMG_4778

My mom’s beautiful chocolate cake, served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

IMG_4777

My sister’s Brownie A la Mode. It tasted as good as it looked!

But how did everything taste?

I dug into my sundae and it was heavenly. Did I wish it was all vanilla ice cream? Absolutely. But the chocolate ice cream worked. It was like one giant ice cream version of a Reese’s cup. The hot chocolate fudge and peanut butter syrup mixed to create a decadent coating to the ice cream. The morsels added a bit of crunch and texture to the sundae, and the whipped cream is always a welcomed topping. I made it 2/3 of the way through before tapping out. Honestly – had it been all vanilla, I think I could have finished.

The dessert scored well all around. We all agreed that we had found a new family favorite and planned on dining here at least once next trip. We did agree to split up our visits – with one being for dinner and the other being just for ice cream.

Obviously I would recommend Beaches and Cream. It makes a great spot for lunch, dinner or dessert. We really enjoyed our post-Fantasmic ADR, but if we had to do it all over again, we’d probably eat a small dinner then head to Beaches and Cream for just ice cream. Because it’s so inexpensive (comparatively speaking) I’d suggest paying out of pocket for your meal. You can easily enjoy dinner and dessert for under $30 per person, making it a poor value as a Table Service credit on the Disney Dining Plan.

We plan on staying at the Beach Club next year. I’m sure we’ll be making plenty of stops at our new-found favorite.

Leave a Reply

