Reader Email: What Should be on my Disney Food Bucket List?

Pete,

I’m heading to Disney in a month! All my ADRs are made, but now it’s time to start planning my snacks! What are some can’t-miss snacks that I should have on my list? I’m open to anything – sweet, savory and alcoholic!

Thanks

Heather

Hey Heather!

Lucky you! I’ve been trying to sway my family into going earlier this year, but it looks like we’ll just be going for Christmas. I’ve got a serious Disney itch!

While I love the restaurants at Disney, my favorite day is when we forgo a normal table service and just snack around the world at EPCOT. Being on the meal plan really forces us (well, gives us an excuse) to enjoy all the Disney snacks.

There’s so many to cover, so I’m going to break this up into a few posts over the next few weeks (seeing as you’re not leaving for another month.)

Classics & Cult Favorites

These are the snacks you can only find at Disney. Sure, they may be Disney’s version of a snack you can find anywhere else, but they’re unique to Disney and loved by its fans.

  1. Dole Whip – No trip to Disney is complete without trying one. Many claim it’s overrated and I tend to agree, but you need to try it at least once! The go-to is the Dole Whip Float: vanilla soft serve with pineapple juice. Unfortunately, the Magic Kingdom no longer serves vanilla ice cream, so you’ll have to head to Pineapple Lanai at the Polynesian Resort.
  2. Tonga Toast – While at the Polynesian, swing by Kona for breakfast. The Tonga Toast is a popular breakfast among Disney guests. The breakfast is a spin on stuffed french toast. It features two thick-cut slices of bread stuffed with a banana filling, then fried and rolled in a cinnamon sugar. It’s extremely sweet, but it’s absolutely delicious. While the strawberry sauce pairs well with the dish, I always ask for a side of maple syrup, instead.
  3. Mickey Waffles – While the Tonga Toast is a cult favorite, the Mickey Waffles take the trophy for most popular breakfast food. They’re waffles, but they’re shaped like the beloved Mickey Mouse. They just taste better, too. Maybe it’s because I’m in Disney, but they’re crisp on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. They also have that perfect malt-like flavor you love in belgian waffles.
  4. Cupcakes – Disney cupcakes have become somewhat of a staple at Walt Disney World. I think it all started with Starring Rolls, located in Disney’s Hollywood Studios. The bakery churns out some pretty decadent cupcakes, including a Butterfinger cupcake large enough to make any chocolate lover tap out. Cupcakes have become a pretty common dessert throughout property. I love the Oreo cupcake from the Boardwalk Bakery and the Contempo Cafe (Contemporary Resort) features some pretty delicious offerings. Depending on when you go, you’re sure to find a seasonal flavor (the gingerbread during Christmas is my favorite!) At nearly $5, these snacks are a solid value on the meal plan, as well.
  5. The Popcorn – You’ll hear every Disney fan mention it. You can find popcorn anywhere, though, right? Right. But like the waffles, everything just tastes better in Disney. You’ll be drawn in by the smell sooner or later and decide to finally buy some. The buttery, salty, freshly made popcorn is one of my favorite snacks to munch on during a parade or the fireworks. You can find it virtually anywhere, but my favorite popcorn cart is at the entrance of Magic Kingdom, right by the train station stairway.

Honorable mention: Candy apples. I finally tried a Disney candy apple my last trip. It was alright, but not something I’d seek out again.

e4f2458a-d646-47da-9478-af671474012b_zps0b9c10f9

Gingerbread Cupcake from Starring Rolls – Gingerbread cake and cream cheese frosting

 

One thought on “Reader Email: What Should be on my Disney Food Bucket List?

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Disney Bucket List- Sweet Treats |

Leave a Reply

