Foodie Friday: Cake at Disney World

I’ll be 27 years old on Sunday. Unbelievable. I’ve had a lot of great birthdays—one year we even celebrated in Disney World. In 2007 I graduated high school. When my parents asked me what I wanted for graduation, I told them “a trip to Disney World.” It was a total shot in the dark, but my parents agreed that it’d make a nice trip before I left for college.

In honor of my birthday, let’s take a look at my five favorite cakes at Walt Disney World:

Layered Chocolate Cake a la Mode, Beaches and Cream

I’ll admit, I’m not the biggest chocolate-on-chocolate fan, but when I saw this on the menu I just had to try it. Upon ordering the cake, our server warned us that it’s a lot of frosting. I just smiled and said “bring it on.”

The first thing you notice when the cake arrives is its size. Calling this a big slice of cake is an understatement. The seven-layer cake features a chocolate buttercream wedged between layers of moist chocolate cake. It’s topped with a sheet cake’s worth of icing.

It’s beautifully decorated, too. It has a bit of an ombre effect with both darker and lighter icing. It’s topped with a chocolate candy Mickey head, served alongside a heaping scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled with chocolate syrup. Seriously—if your sweet tooth may have to come out after this dessert!

IMG_4778

Carrot Cake Cookie, Hollywood Studios

Not a cake, per se, but this carrot cake whoopie pie is a cult favorite at Walt Disney World. This sandwich-like cake features a vanilla cream cheese frosting between two spicy, dense carrot cake cookies. It’s huge and can easily be split between two people. While it is in sandwich form, I’d recommend a fork and knife!

I believe the carrot cake cookie is no longer available at the Writer’s Shop, however, it can now be found at Sweet Spells.

Almond Crusted Cheesecake, Narcoossee’s

I’ve declared my love for the Almond Crusted Cheesecake at Narcoossee’s many times before. It’s rich, sweet, tart, crunchy and soft as a cloud all at the same time. The almonds give it the perfect crunch, while the cheesecake offers a sweet and tart element. The sweetness of the dessert is cut down by the cherry compote, which compliments the cheesecake perfectly! Narcoossee’s is my favorite restaurant on property, due in large part to this decadent dessert.

IMG_0105

The delicious Almond-Crusted Cheesecake!

Grapefruit Cake, Hollywood Brown Derby

A cake so good that Iron Chef Alex Guarnaschelli featured it on her Instagram! This yellow cake is layered with cream cheese frosting and topped with a candied grapefruit. This delicately flavored cake is actually quite refreshing!

Funnel Cakes, America Pavilion in EPCOT

It’s summertime, which means fairs and carnivals are popping up all over the place. It’s the perfect time for zeppoles and funnel cakes. The funnel cakes in the America Pavilion can be ordered a la mode and often feature seasonal flavors, like pumpkin spice. It’s a great stop right before Illuminations!

Leave a Reply

