World News: Wednesday, August 3rd

Free Dining Bounceback

Guests visiting the Walt Disney World Resort and staying at the hotels between August 1st through October 31, 2016 will get some extra magic with their stay. A new bounceback offer for free dining in 2017 will be available in guest rooms.

The bounceback offer should be available in your room when you arrive but if it isn’t, you can call extension 8844 from your Disney Resort hotel room or call 407-939-1923. The only caveat to the deal is that you have to book it before you check out from your current trip and it must be for a specific length of stay (see brochure below for more details). 

More information can be found at InsideTheMagic.

As a family that always books the Disney Dining Plan, I’m happy to hear this. Obviously it doesn’t affect my family, as it won’t be offered during Christmas; but I’m always a fan of free dining—and it can certainly prove to be worth it if used properly.

It does make you wonder whether this is just a test or new offering, or if Disney plans on doing away with free dining for all guests. I doubt it. Disney often offers up to a 30% discount for Bounceback and they often feature this discount for all guests during off-peak months, so I’m not reading too much into this. Regardless, it’s a nice offer if you use it to your advantage.

Flying Fish Now Accepting Reservations

Flying Fish began accepting reservations on July 29th. I haven’t looked, but there may still be some reservations available for Christmas week. Refurbishments and new openings present a fantastic opportunity to snag a good ADR if you miss the reservation window or book your trip too late.

I’ve never dined at Flying Fish. It was honestly a toss up between Yachtsman and Flying Fish and Yachtsman won this year. However, after looking over the menu, I’m happy we’re going with Yachtsman. While I’m sure Flying Fish could and will impress, the new menu seems to have lost the most popular dishes. Gone is the Potato Wrapped Snapper and the scallops over risotto. I am happy to see that it offers a few different non-seafood options, such as Wagyu, Bison and chicken.

New Muppets Show Coming to Magic Kingdom

Disney Parks Blog reports that the Muppets are coming to Magic Kingdom this Fall.

Beginning this fall, the Muppets will be visiting Magic Kingdom Park, where they’ll take part in an all-new live show, “The Muppets Present… Great Moments in American History.”

Sam Eagle, the fiercely patriotic American eagle who is forever trying to set a high moral standard for the Muppets, will join Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, Fozzie Bear, The Great Gonzo and James Jefferson, town crier of Liberty Square, as they gather outside The Hall of Presidents to present historical tales in hysterical fashion as only they can. From the midnight ride of Paul Revere to the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the Muppets appear throughout the day to share with Guests, their own unique take on the founding fathers and the birth of the United States of America.

I’m really excited about this. I love the Muppets show in Hollywood Studios, even if the end with the obviously dated characters and guests is laughable. I was happy to hear that not only did the Muppets survive the Hollywood Studios expansion and renovations, but that it would get its own themed pizza place (even if I never step foot in it) and now a show at Magic Kingdom.

Non-Handle Mugs

DisneyFoodBlog reports that Disney will introduce handle-free resort mugs. The team over at DisUnplugged spoke about this on yesterday’s podcast. Honestly, it doesn’t affect my use. As I’ve mentioned a bunch of times, I don’t bring it to the park and I only use it for soft drinks and water when I’m at the resort. Whether it’s a cost-cutting initiative or not, I could care less about the handle.

I do think it’s great that the mugs will now fit into most cup holders. Having a backpack with a cup holder, I may be more prone to bring the cup with me.

I think the real change that needs to take place is allowing guests to use the cup throughout Walt Disney World—both at the resorts and in the parks. I’d easily pay an additional $10-$15 to use the cup throughout Walt Disney World and it could definitely pay off in the long run! It’d also serve as another initiative to get the dining plan!

Leave a Reply

