Foodie Friday: Sweet Treats at Disney’s Food and Wine Festival

Disney’s Food and Wine Festival at EPCOT is less than two weeks away! Wow, where did the time go? Would you believe that July was two months ago?! As I mentioned last week, I thought I’d cover the Food and Wine Festival and offer up some tips and tricks. I had the pleasure of finally going to EPCOT for Food and Wine last year and I fit a lot into one day. While I’m far from an expert, last week I shared some tips based on the mistakes I made; this week I’ll start covering some of my favorite treats. This series of Foodie Friday should bring us into October. Once October hits, I’ll start gearing up for Christmas. Until then, let’s enjoy the fall.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know I have a huge sweet tooth. I can probably go an entire day eating just ice cream and chocolate. So while my sister was excited about trying the savory dishes at Food and Wine, I salivated at the idea of the desserts and sweet treats. Here are some of the dishes I tried and would recommend:

  1. Liquid Nitro Chocolate Almond Truffle with Warm Whiskey Caramel at Chocolate Studio Booth

Sounds like a science project, right? Don’t let the name deceive you. With a name that sounds like its straight out of Albert Einstein’s laboratory and a plating style that looks like art rather than food, the Liquid Nitro Chocolate Almond Truffle deserves every bit of hype it received last year.

The texture was unexpected. Truthfully, I expected more of an ice cream, however, this was very much a chocolate truffle. That’s not necessarily a bad thing! The truffle was incredibly rich, with a velvety texture that kind of melted in your mouth. It wasn’t overly sweet, either. In fact, the warm whiskey caramel added most of the sweetness, while the crushed almonds added a nice texture and crunch. It was a decent size, as well! I would say that for my particular plate, there was a little too much caramel. I know, I know—that shouldn’t be a bad thing, but I would have been content with a little less as it added a bit too much sweetness.

The Liquid Nitro Chocolate Almond Truffle was $4.00 and included as a snack on the DDP. It returns this year and will be served at the Chocolate Studio.

Almond Truffle copy

Liquid Nitro Chocolate Almond Truffle, Chew Lab

 

2. Creme Brulee, Vanilla Chocolat at the France Booth

I didn’t plan on trying this dessert, but I sure am glad that I did. My sister went to the France booth to get the braised short ribs and mashed potatoes. She still raves about it to this day, but I’ll cover that another week. This week is all about the sweets, and France hit it out of the ballpark with this one.

It’s hard for any booth or stand to take precedent over the French Bakery, Les Halles Boulangerie-Patisserie, located in the France Pavilion. Home to some of the most decadent desserts and pastries, the shop alone has made France a must-do on any foodie’s tour of Magic Kingdom. You could imagine my surprise when the France booth didn’t include any pastries, but rather a creme brulee.

I was hesitant, as I’m usually more of a cake, cookie or ice cream person, but a custard would do. After all, Food and Wine is all about going outside your comfort zone. It was love at first bite. The creme brulee was perfectly caramelized at top, with a hard sugary crust at top. It didn’t have a gummy texture at all, something I always fear when ordering a creme brulee. In fact, it was creamy and rich with flavors of  chocolate and vanilla that perfectly complimented each other. It was $4.25, counted as a snack and I believe it returns this year.

3. Pastel de elote con queso: Sweet Corn Cheesecake at the Mexico Booth. 

I love cornbread. A good cornbread can make or break barbecue food. I also enjoy cheesecake. What could go wrong, right?

The texture was a little unexpected, but this was very, very good. There was no sign of any cornbread-type texture. I was hoping for a cornbread-like crust, but no sign of it. It was more of a flan than a cake. But it was creamy and the sweet corn taste provided the perfect sweetness. I’d totally recommend this dessert, but tailor your expectations. This is far from the cheesecake you’ve come to expect.

The Sweet Corn Cheesecake returns this year to the Mexico Booth.

COrnCheesecake

4. Croissant Donut from the Refreshment Port. 

Okay, so you can get a croissant donut year-round at EPCOT, but I refuse to go to the park and not get one. No matter how many times I have the croissant donut, I still keep going back for one. When we first arrived around 10am, the festival booths weren’t open yet. We decided to have “breakfast,” as we were tired from driving two hours. Of course, we opted for the croissant donut.

Now, if you’re an AP holder or always going to Disney, you may pass up on this hybrid treat, however, if you’re like me and only visit once or twice a year, I’d still get it. The croissant donut is often served hot and fresh. It’s pretty much a fried croissant, shaped like a donut, then rolled in cinnamon sugar. It’s incredibly flakey and almost melts in your mouth. The layers are buttery and have a light salt taste, while the outside is crunch from being fried and the cinnamon sugar. It’s sweet, crunchy, buttery and light all at the same time. This year I’ll be ordering it a la mode!

The croissant donut is a snack on the Disney Dining Plan and served at the Refreshment Port.

Croissant Donut

Croissant Donut—look at those layers!

5. Brazilian Coconut Candy at the Brazil Booth

 

I almost didn’t order this, as we pretty much ordered everyone off the menu at Brazil. After placing an order for the Brazilian Cheese Bread, Crispy Pork Belly and the Black Beer, I debated in my head whether to just get the candy, as well.

I was never a big coconut person, but I recently became one. I love those chocolate-covered coconut patties. I was happy to see how big the coconut candy was. It was a pretty hefty and dense piece, resembling a mini haystack. These babies are incredibly sweet, but the coconut adds a creamy element.

I didn’t think to grab a photo, as I was distracted with the pork belly and cheese bread, which I’ll cover in the coming weeks. The candy returns this year to the Brazil booth. While it’s a snack on the dining plan, I’d recommend spending the $2 rather than wasting a credit.

What’s sweet dish are you most looking forward to this year?

Leave a Reply

